“I have nothing to wear”

It often seems like men and women don’t speak the same language. Take fashion for example. East Bay Couples blog cites a great example from the book Love and Respect. Consider a couple who are getting dressed for an event.

She looks in her closet and says, “I have nothing to wear!” Translation: “I have nothing new!” He looks in his closet and says, “I have nothing to wear.” Translation: “I have nothing clean!” Isn’t that a revelation? More illustrations of the communication divide between men and women in the workplace can be found in Deborah Tanner’s “Talking from 9 to 5.”

One thought on ““I have nothing to wear”

Leave a Reply

